Certified Paleo Standards
The Certified Paleo Requirements for Grain-Free, Legume-Free, Dairy-Free, Artificial Coloring, Artificial Preservatives, Artificial Sweeteners and Artificial Flavor Enhancers-Free Products are outlined in full in the Certified Paleo Standards PDF HERE. These standards apply to all products certified by The Paleo Foundation for the the Certified Paleo Program. Only certified Products following these standards are explicitly given the rights to use Certified Paleo logos, trademarks, certification marks, or other design marks hereinafter referred to as “Certified Paleo label”.
Applicability of the Label
The Certified Paleo label was developed and trademarked by The Paleo Foundation Inc. to identify food products that meet the standards of the Paleo Diet. The Certified Paleo Label is a certification mark registered with the U.S. Trademark and Patent Office, and its use is only permitted by those who have entered into a contractual agreement with The Paleo Foundation Inc. The Certified Paleo Label was designed to establish an easily identifiable mark indicating that a product has met the strictures of the Paleo Diet and merit use of the Certified Paleo Label. Certified Paleo requirements may be amended periodically based on current research.
Guidelines For the Certified Paleo Label
The Certified Paleo label is allowed to be used on packaging, promotional materials, point of purchase materials, websites, sales literature, banners, company stationery, and other advertising materials. Use of the Certified Paleo label must comply with the guidelines as outlined in the Certified Paleo Standards. If a company wishes to present the logos in a manner other than as described in Statement of Use Guidelines, The Paleo Foundation Inc. must approve the request and give permission in writing to the Producer. Producers may display the Certified Paleo label only on products that have been certified by The Paleo Foundation. Producers must have a contractual agreement with the Paleo Foundation to use the Certified Paleo label.
Producers may only use the trademark on company stationery if the entire product line has been audited and certified Certified Paleo. If the entire product line has been audited and certified Certified Paleo, Producers may display the Certified Paleo label on their entire website. If the entire product line was not certified, the Certified Paleo label may appear on a page containing audited and certified Certified Paleo products only. Products that have not been audited and certified Certified Paleo are not permitted to appear on the same page as the Certified Paleo label, as this could be misleading to consumers.
To complete the application process, the applicant must sign an affidavit stating that all answers and statements provided in their application were true to the best of their knowledge. Use of the Certified Paleo label is only permitted after audit and certification by the Paleo Foundation of the applicant’s products. Certified Paleo retains the right to make unannounced visits to applicant’s commercial kitchen, manufacturing plant, or processing center to verify that all Certified Paleo Requirements are continuously being met. Certified Paleo retains the right to inspect the applicant’s products to verify that all Requirements are met.
Use of The Certified Paleo label for any product which does not meet each of the Certified Paleo Requirements, has not been audited, or has not been given explicit permission is strictly prohibited. Misuse of The Certified Paleo Label will result in immediate suspension of the agreement and/or prosecution.
Grain Free Guidelines In Certified Paleo Standards
All Products must not contain grains and be 100% grain free to be eligible for use of the Certified Paleo label. There are no exceptions to this rule. Disallowed Grains include, but are not limited to: Barley, Rice, Bulgur, Kamut, Oats, Spelt, Teff, Wheat, Wheat Berries, Triticale, Corn, Hominy, Rye, Sorghum. Disallowed Psuedo-Grains include, but are not limited to :Amaranth, Quinoa, and Buckwheat.
Legume-Free Guidelines In Certified Paleo Standards
All Products must not contain legumes to be eligible for use of the Certified Paleo label. Disallowed Legumes include but are not limited to: Beans, Lentils, Peas, Peanuts, Soy and Soy derivatives, and Tempeh.
Dairy-Free Guidelines In Certified Paleo Standards
Certified Paleo Products must not contain dairy products to be eligible for use of the Certified Paleo label. For the purpose of this definition, eggs are not considered “dairy” products. This includes but is not limited to: Cheeses, Milk, Milk Derivatives, Yogurts, Cream, Evaporated Milk, Caseinates.
Artificial Coloring, Preservatives, and Artificial Sweeteners and Flavor Enhancers
Certified Paleo Products must not contain artificial coloring and preservatives to be eligible for use of the Certified Paleo label. This includes but is not limited to: Coloring Derived from coal, tar, or petroleum, FD&C Red No. 40, FD&C Yellow No. 5, BHA and BHT, TBHQ, Aspartame, Glutamates, Guanylates, Inosinates, Corn Syrups, Propionic Acid and Propionates, Cyclamates, Acesulfame Potassium, and Neotame.
Allowed Ingredients in the Certified Paleo Standards
The following ingredients are eligible for use of the Paleo Friendly label. They will be amended from time to time as necessary, as some items are likely missing. These ingredients include, but are not limited to:
Meats: Certified Paleo Approved animals automatically accepted. Herbivores must be 100% grass- fed, forage-fed, and pastured. Omivores must be pastured. USDA inspected, wild-harvested, wild-caught, or trapped animals.
Seafood: Must be Wild-Caught.
Fruits: All Fruits are allowed.
Nuts: All True Nuts are Allowed.
Oils and Fats: Pastured tallow, lard, all nut oils, Avocado Oil, Olive Oil, Coconut Oil, High Oleic Sunflower Oils.
Flours: All nut flours are allowed Sweet Potato flour, coconut flour, tapioca flour, arrowroot flour.
Milks: All nut milks are allowed Hemp Milk, Coconut Milk without disallowed stabilizers, and Coconut Water.
Sweeteners: Honey, stevia, maple syrup, coconut sugar, coconut sap, coconut nectar, date sugar, fruit juice, date sugar.
Vegetables: All vegetables are allowed including Vegetable Juices, Sea vegetables, Seaweed, and Algae.
Roots and Tubers: All roots and tubers are allowed.
Spices: All spices are allowed, Sea Salts, Smoked Salts, Salt blends and Spice blends.
Teas: All teas and coffee are allowed.
Seeds: Sunflower seeds, chia seeds, mustard seeds, pumpkin seeds, hemp seeds.
Chocolate: Dark Chocolate sweetened with approved sweeteners, without soy lecithin. Sunflower lecithin is acceptable.
Fermented Foods: Non-grain vinegar is allowed Sauerkraut, Kimchi, Kombucha, Coconut Kefirs.
Miscellaneous: Grass-fed Gelatin, Grass-fed Broths.